top of page

How was winning the Ahlan Wa Sahlan Contest.


Truly winning the Ahlan Wa Sahlan 2015 was a big surprise for me, because although I recognize my work, I decided to participate a week before traveling to Egypt. I did not prepare, as usual before a competence, a special costume, but I took the newest I had. I prepared the second half of the choreography just 15 days before and the other half I presented I prepared the day before, while my roommate was sleeping. I did not stress, nor was determined to win, but to live the moment and enjoy ...

The experience in improvisation band was beautiful because I love every note of the piece Fi Youm Wa Leila, I love the lyrics every time I hear it and be there with a live band was a dream come true. This year I turn 10 years in dance and 8 years in competitions, where I have been always favored thanks to God and allways proudly making Mexico present , and what better gift for our country that this special award .

It all started with an email to the organizing committee of the AWS to ask if I could participate in competition, as from 2 years ago I have the honor of being one of the teachers. And leaving behind the pride, it is not easy to expose as a teacher in a competition, but I decided to do it, had nothing to lost, only to gain experience and have wonderful moments.

They were lots and very beautiful dancers participating nightly during the 5 days of competition, 80% from foreign countries like Ukraine, Russia, Japan, China, Korea, do not know how many but I can say that were hundreds ... last night's show I had to close at 5 in the morning, so you can imagine what it was like. Beautiful costumes, perfect technique, new faces, faces already seen, but all with a great passion.

The day before the competition just thought, do nothing outside my style, nothing spectacular, nor I will I rush on the stage, just recall what I have been studying the last 10 years, the pure Egyptian style ... very complex but very simple in appearance. And so it was. Interpretation, feeling and technique together. And what a better gift that after finish my performance master teacher Madame Raquia Hassan, yell at me at the end - awee awee awee-and I said, - that’s better than any prize!!! - Also the comment of one of the teachers I admire Katia Eshta, who told me, - I followed your dance since the start of the festival because of your Egyptian style, I'm glad to see that in Mexico have Egyptian style - and how not having it if it is the culture I admire and love after Mexico.

For me to love Egyptian dance means loving all of their culture, their madness, their ways so strange to "talk", their flutter, their passions, their streets so unusual, his party and its heaviness in the morning. The more you love all of them, you begin to understand more ... It’s still a long way to walk and I have always considered myself an apprentice because a typical dance from a single country cannot be learned completely in a single life.

Thank you very much my friends and students who jumped with me with joy to hear my name, Gaby, Zerahiah, Naye. Matthias also Pirchi that ran to congratulate me, Magdy, Carol, Essam, Roza, s Thanks to all those who have congratulated me, which are many, I would never end to mention them but they are here in my heart, thank you very much !!!

Still very grateful to this beautiful gift from the universe, especially dedicated to the stars where is the largest and most beautiful of all, my mother.


Posts Recientes

BELLYDANCE COACH

bottom of page